فهم جنازات مشددة وكيف يمكن أن تؤثر على حالة الهجرة الخاصة بك

بغض النظر عن أهداف الهجرة الأمريكية ، يمكن أن يكون لأشياء قليلة تأثير أكبر على قضيتك من إدانتك بجريمة أو حتى من المحتمل أن تكون مرتبطة بنشاط إجرامي. وعندما يتعلق الأمر بقانون الهجرة ، لا توجد جرائم أشد من الجنايات المشددة. يعمل معظمهم كمؤهلون غير رسميين لمجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة المتعلقة بالهجرة ، بما في ذلك الجنسية الأمريكية أو البطاقة الخضراء.

تم وضع مفهوم جناية مشددة لأول مرة من قبل قانون الهجرة والجنسية في عام 1988. في حين أن التعريف الأول للجناية المشددة لا يشمل سوى القتل والاتجار بالمخدرات أو الأسلحة ، فإن قائمة الجرائم المؤهلة قد توسعت بشكل كبير منذ ذلك الحين. القائمة واسعة النطاق ، بالإضافة إلى القتل والاتجار ، وتشمل جرائم مثل:

  • حريق متعمد
  • اغتصاب
  • الإساءة الجنسية للقاصر
  • جرائم سرقة معينة
  • بعض جرائم العنف
  • بعض - وليس كل - تكاليف الأسلحة
  • الاحتيال المالي أكثر من 10،000 دولار
  • الجرائم المتعلقة بالدفاع الوطني مثل الخيانة
  • المواد الإباحية للأطفال
  • أي محاولة أو مؤامرة لارتكاب جناية مشددة

بالإضافة إلى الجرائم المدرجة على وجه التحديد في قانون الهجرة والجنسية ، فإن العديد من الإدانات الجنائية التي يُحكم فيها على الشخص بالسجن لمدة سنة أو أكثر قد يتم اعتبارها جنايات متفاقمة لأغراض الهجرة - حتى لو لم يكن هذا الشخص يخدم فعليًا. عام كامل في السجن.

إذا تم إدانتك بجناية مشددة بعد 29 نوفمبر / تشرين الثاني 1990 ، سيتم منعك بشكل دائم من إظهار "الشخصية الأخلاقية الجيدة" لأغراض تحقيق التجنس. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قد تمنعك إدانة الجناية المشددة من الحصول على اللجوء ، أو أن تصبح مقيمًا دائمًا ، أو تحقق إلغاء الإزالة في قضية ترحيل.

حتى إذا كان لديك بالفعل بطاقة خضراء ، فإن إدانة الجناية المشددة قد تؤدي إلى ترحيلك ، وأي عملية ترحيل ناتجة عن جناية مشددة ستحظر تلقائياً الشخص المعني من الدخول مرة أخرى إلى الولايات المتحدة لمدة 20 عامًا على الأقل بدون عفو حكومي.

من حيث حالة الهجرة الخاصة بك ، لا يمكن أن يأتي أي خير أو اتهم بارتكاب جريمة جنائية ، وعلى وجه الخصوص ، جناية مشددة. إذا كنت ترغب في تحقيق أهداف الهجرة الخاصة بك ، فمن الضروري تجنب أي وجميع الأنشطة الإجرامية إذا كان ذلك ممكنا. لمعرفة المزيد حول كيفية ارتكاب جريمة جنائية ، بما في ذلك جناية مشددة ، قد تؤثر على حالة الهجرة الخاصة بك أو وضع الهجرة ، يرجى الاتصال بمكاتب المحامي صالح وشركائه اليوم.

شارك:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on print

المزيد من المشاركات

What is a Nonimmigrant Classification?

If the CBP officer grants the person admission into the U.S., the officer will use the classification listed on the visa to determine the period of authorized admission.

arالعربية

Understanding Aggravated Felonies and How They Can Impact Your Immigration Case

No matter your US immigration goals, few things can have a bigger impact on your case than being convicted of a crime or potentially even associated with criminal activity. And when it comes to immigration law, no crimes are more severe than aggravated felonies. Most of them serve as automatic disqualifiers for a wide variety of immigration-related pursuits, including US citizenship or a Green Card.

The concept of an aggravated felony was first established by the Immigration and Nationality Act in 1988. While the first definition of an aggravated felony only included murder and drug or weapons trafficking, the list of crimes that qualify has expanded considerably since then. The list is expansive and, in addition to murder and trafficking, includes crimes like:

  • Arson
  • Rape
  • Sexual abuse of a minor
  • Certain theft offenses
  • Certain crimes of violence
  • Some—but not all—weapons charges
  • Financial fraud over $10,000
  • Crimes relating to national defense like treason
  • Child pornography
  • Any attempt or conspiracy to commit an aggravated felony

In addition to the crimes specifically listed in the Immigration and Nationality Act, many criminal convictions where the individual is sentenced to a term of imprisonment of one year or more may also qualify as aggravated felonies for immigration purposes—even if the individual does not actually serve a full year in prison.

If you have been convicted of an aggravated felony after November 29, 1990, you will be permanently barred from demonstrating “Good Moral Character” for the purposes of achieving naturalization. Additionally, an aggravated felony conviction may prevent you from obtaining asylum, becoming a permanent resident, or achieving a cancellation of removal in a deportation case.

Even if you already have a Green Card, an aggravated felony conviction could result in your deportation, and any deportation that results from an aggravated felony will automatically bar the individual in question from reentering the US for at least 20 years without a government pardon.

In terms of your immigration case, no good can come of being charged with or convicted of a criminal offense, and in particular, an aggravated felony. If you want to achieve your immigration goals, it is vital that you avoid any and all criminal activity if at all possible. To learn more about how a criminal offense, including an aggravated felony, may impact your immigration case or immigration status, please contact the law offices of Saleh and Associates today.

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on print

More Posts

What is a Nonimmigrant Classification?

If the CBP officer grants the person admission into the U.S., the officer will use the classification listed on the visa to determine the period of authorized admission.

en_USEnglish