موجز سؤال وجواب على إلغاء الإزالة

إذا كنت من غير المواطنين المقيمين في الولايات المتحدة ، سواء كان لديك وضع إقامة قانونية شرعية أم لا ، فهناك احتمال أن توضع في إجراءات الإبعاد وترحل من هذا البلد.

هناك عدد من السيناريوهات والإجراءات المختلفة التي قد تؤدي إلى الترحيل ، مثل النشاط الإجرامي ، ولكن هناك طرق للرد على حقك في البقاء والعيش في الولايات المتحدة والدفاع عنه.

ومن أهم هذه العلاجات "إلغاء الإزالة". في هذه المدونة ، سنقدم إجابات للأسئلة الشائعة حول إلغاء الإزالة.

ما هو بالضبط إلغاء الإزالة؟

يُعد إلغاء الإزالة وسيلة انتصاف قانونية يمكن منحها في ظل ظروف معينة لمنع الترحيل من الولايات المتحدة في إجراءات الإزالة ضد مواطن غير أمريكي. هناك فئتان مختلفتان للإلغاء: واحدة للمقيمين الدائمين القانونيين (LPR) وواحدة للمقيمين غير الدائمين (NPR) التي تواجه الترحيل.

كم من الوقت كان هذا الخيار متاحًا؟

مع تمرير قانون إصلاح قانون الهجرة غير الشرعي والمهاجرين (IIRIRA) في عام 1996 - تاريخ نفاذ 1 أبريل 1997 - استبدال إلغاء استبدال الشكل السابق من الإغاثة المعروفة باسم "تعليق الترحيل".

من المؤهل لإلغاء LPR؟

من أجل أن يكون المقيم الدائم القانوني مؤهلاً لإلغاء الإلغاء ، يجب أن يكون قد حصل على مركز LPR لمدة لا تقل عن خمس سنوات ، وأقام في الولايات المتحدة لمدة لا تقل عن سبع سنوات (سواءً كان ذلك في LPR أو غير ذلك) ، ويجب ألا يكونوا قد أدينوا في أي وقت من الأوقات بجناية مشددة.

ما هي معايير إلغاء NPR؟

يجب أن يكون المقيم غير الدائم - بغض النظر عن وضع هجرته - قد عاش في الولايات المتحدة لمدة عشر سنوات على الأقل قبل بدء إجراءات الترحيل ، وإثبات "حسن الأخلاق" ، وعدم استبعاده بسبب النشاط الإجرامي ، وإثبات أن سيؤدي الإزالة إلى معاناة استثنائية وغير عادية إلى حد كبير للزوج أو الوالد أو الطفل الذي هو مواطن من LPR أو من مواطني الولايات المتحدة.

ما الذي يشكل "الشخصية الأخلاقية الجيدة؟"

تحدد الحكومة الأمريكية "الشخصية الأخلاقية الحسنة" بأنها "الشخصية التي ترقى إلى مستوى المواطن العادي في المجتمع الذي يقيم فيه مقدم الطلب". وهذا يعني أنه يجب ألا تكون قد ارتكبت جرائم معينة وأنك أوفت بالتزاماتك بموجب القانون خلال وقتك هنا. هذه معايير ذاتية يمكن إثباتها بعدة طرق ، مثل وجود سجل جنائي نظيف ، وإثبات أنك كنت تدفع دائماً فواتيرك وضرائبك ، وأن تقدم شهادة شهود على شخصيتك المتميزة وصفاتك الإيجابية.

إذا استوفيت معايير الإلغاء ، فهل أضمن الحصول عليها؟

للأسف، ليست هذه هي القضية. حتى إذا كنت تستوفي جميع المعايير للتأهل إما لإلغاء LPR أو NPR ، فإن القرار النهائي متروك لتقدير قاضي الهجرة الذي قد يقرر حتى الآن أنك لا تستحق منح إلغاء الإزالة كمسألة تقدير بسبب مجموعة متنوعة من الأسباب.

ما هي "جناية مشددة؟"

جناية مشددة ، في سياق قانون الهجرة ، هي جريمة تستبعد تلقائياً من منحك الإلغاء (من بين مزايا الهجرة الأخرى أو أشكال الإغاثة). هناك العديد من الجرائم التي تعتبر بمثابة جناية مشددة ، بما في ذلك القتل والاغتصاب والاتجار بالمخدرات ، وعدم المثول أمام المحكمة بتهمة ارتكاب جناية.

ماذا يحدث إذا منحت إلغاء الإزالة؟

بالنسبة إلى NPR ، فإن إلغاء الإلغاء سينهي إجراءات الإزالة ، وسيصبح الشخص تلقائيًا مقيمًا دائمًا في الولايات المتحدة (حامل البطاقة الخضراء). من شأن إلغاء الإلغاء لـ LPRs إنهاء إجراءات الإزالة وسيتعين عليهم الاحتفاظ ببطاقتهم الخضراء. ومع ذلك ، ضع في اعتبارك أن إلغاء الإزالة هو شكل من أشكال الإغاثة لمرة واحدة. إذا واجهت الترحيل في المستقبل ، فلن تكون مؤهلاً للحصول على إلغاء الإزالة.

إذا واجهت أنت أو أحد أفراد أسرتك الترحيل ، فمن الضروري أن تبحث عن خدمات محامي هجرة ماهر يمكنه مساعدتك في الحصول على إلغاء الإزالة إذا كنت تستوفي معايير الأهلية. يرجى الاتصال بمكتب محاماة صالح وشركاه اليوم ودعونا نقاتل للدفاع عن حقك في العيش في الولايات المتحدة.

شارك:

شارك على facebook
شارك على twitter
شارك على linkedin
شارك على print

المزيد من المشاركات

What is a Nonimmigrant Classification?

If the CBP officer grants the person admission into the U.S., the officer will use the classification listed on the visa to determine the period of authorized admission.

arالعربية

A Brief Q&A on Cancellation of Removal

If you are a non-citizen residing in the United States, whether you have legal permanent resident status or not, there is the potential that you could be placed in removal proceedings and deported from this country.

There are a number of different scenarios and actions that could lead to deportation, such as criminal activity, but there are ways to fight back and defend your right to remain and live in the US.

Chief amongst these remedies is the “Cancellation of Removal.” In this blog, we will provide answers to common questions about the cancellation of removal.

What exactly is a cancellation of removal?

Cancellation of removal is a legal remedy that may be granted under certain circumstances to prevent deportation from the US in removal proceedings against a non-US citizen. There are two different categories of cancellation: one for Lawful Permanent Residents (LPR) and one for Non-Permanent Residents (NPR) facing deportation.

How long has this option been available?

With the passage of the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act (IIRIRA) in 1996—effective date of April 1, 1997—cancellation of removal replaced the previous form of relief known as “suspension of deportation.”

Who is eligible for LPR cancellation?

In order for a legal permanent resident to be eligible for a cancellation of removal, he or she must have held LPR status for no less than five years, resided in the US for no less than seven years (whether as a LPR or otherwise), and they must not have ever been convicted of an aggravated felony.

What are the NPR cancellation criteria?

The non-permanent resident—no matter their immigration status—must have lived in the US for at least ten years prior to the commencement of removal proceedings, demonstrate “good moral character,” not be disqualified due to criminal activity, and demonstrate that their removal would result in exceptional and extremely unusual hardship to a spouse, parent, or child who is a LPR or US citizen.

What constitutes “Good Moral Character?”

The US government defines “good moral character” as “character which measures up to the standards of average citizens of the community in which the applicant resides.” This means you must not have committed certain crimes and fulfilled your obligations under the law during your time here. This is a subjective criteria which can be proven in many ways, such as having a clean criminal record, showing proof that you have always paid your bills and taxes, and presenting witness testimony as to your upstanding character and positive qualities.

If I fulfill the criteria for cancellation, am I guaranteed to get it?

Unfortunately this is not the case. Even if you fulfill all criteria to qualify for either LPR or NPR cancellation of removal, the ultimate decision is left up to the discretion of an immigration judge who may still decide to that you do not deserve being granted cancellation of removal as a matter of discretion due to a variety of reasons.

What is an “aggravated felony?”

An aggravated felony, in the context of immigration law, is a crime that automatically disqualifies you from being granted a cancellation of removal (amongst other immigration benefits or forms of relief). There are numerous crimes that qualify as an aggravated felony, including murder, rape, drug trafficking, and failure to appear in court for a charged felony.

What happens if I am granted a cancellation of removal?

For a NPR, a grant of cancellation will end removal proceedings and the person will become automatically become a permanent resident of the US (a “green card” holder).  A grant of cancellation for LPRs will end the removal proceedings and they will get to retain their green card. Keep in mind, however, that cancellation of removal is a one-time form of relief. If you are ever faced with deportation in the future, you will not be eligible to be granted a cancellation of removal.

If you or a loved one are facing deportation, it is vital that you seek out the services of a skilled immigration attorney who can help you obtain a cancellation of removal if you meet the eligibility criteria. Please call the law office of Saleh & Associates today and let us fight to defend your right to live in the US.

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on print

More Posts

What is a Nonimmigrant Classification?

If the CBP officer grants the person admission into the U.S., the officer will use the classification listed on the visa to determine the period of authorized admission.

en_USEnglish